The Institute of English Studies is part of the School of Advanced Study. For further information, please visit Governance of the School

The Institute conducts its day-to-day business through the following committees: 

Advisory Council


Professor Dinah Birch, CBE, FRSA, FEA (University of Liverpool)

Ex officio members

Professor Rick Rylance (Dean of the School of Advanced Study)
Professor Clare Lees (Director of the Institute of English Studies)
Professor Philip Murphy (Deputy Dean, Director of the Institute of Commonwealth Studies)
Professor Catherine Davies (Director of the Institute of Modern Languages Research)

Representative Members from the Colleges of the University of London

Dr Amy De'Ath (KCL)
Professor Alison Finlay (Birkbeck)
Dr Rachael Gilmour (QMUL)
Dr Prudence Bussey-Chamberlain (RHUL)

Postgraduate Student Representative

Anna Girling (University of Edinburgh)

Representatives from Higher Education Institutions

Dr Amanda Potts (Cardiff University)
Dr Mathelinda Nabugodi (Newcastle University)
Professor Greg Walker (University of Edinburgh)
Dr John Wrighton (University of Brighton)
Dr Abbie Garrington (Durham University)
Dr LIse Jaillant (Loughborough University)

Representatives from Libraries

Dr Richard Price (British Library)
Dr Nick Barratt (Senate House Library)

Representatives from outside the Higher Education Sector

Mr Anthony Cond (Liverpool University Press)
Ms Catriona Cannon (Bodleian Libraries)

Elected Member of Institute Staff

Dr Andrew Nash, Reader in Book History and Communications


Ms Helen Bhandari (Institute Manager)

Higher and Research Degrees Committee

The Higher and Research Degrees Committee has responsibility for student monitoring, and for monitoring the academic quality of the Institute's activities, including the MA/MRes in the History of the Book and the London Rare Books School. The H&RDC is operated jointly with the Institute of Classical Studies and the School of Advanced Study's CAI (digital humanities).


Director of the IES: Professor Clare Lees (Chair)

All academic staff in the Institutes who teach or supervise: Dr Gabriel Bodard (ICS), Professor Sarah Churchwell (SAS/IES), Dr Cynthia Johnston (IES MA Course Tutor), Dr Christopher Ohge (IES), Dr Andrew Nash (IES MA Course Director), Dr Elizabeth Savage (IES), Professor Jane Winters (SAS), and Professor Greg Woolf (ICS); non-staff first and second supervisors have the right of attendance to speak to reports.

Up to three persons not in SAS (but who may teach or supervise): Professor Elisabeth Jay (Oxford Brookes), Dr Shafquat Towheed (OU)

Student representatives: Luna Liu (PhD), Alex Wingate & Shannon Riley (MA)

Ex officio: Ms Georgia Reeves (secretary), Kalinda Hughes (Registry), Valerie James (ICS Manager), Rosemary Lambeth (SAS)

Staff-Student Liaison Committee

The Staff-Student Liaison Committee provides a forum for students of the Institute to raise problems or concerns in a formal setting. The Committee meets as part of the Higher and Research Degrees Committee.


Director of the IES: Professor Clare Lees (Chair)

MA/MRes Course Tutor: Dr Cynthia Johnston

MA/MRes Student Representatives: Shannon Riley & Alex Wingate

MPhil/PhD Student Representative: Luna Liu

Postgraduate Student Administrator: Ms Georgia Reeves

Ex officio: Kalinda Hughes (Registry)