Roehampton Poetry Centre Readings: Don Paterson & Pascale Petit: 10 December: FREE TO ATTEND

Wednesday 19 November 2014

If you would like to attend please register at this link:

Don Paterson’s collections including Landing Light (Faber, 2003; Graywolf, 2004), Orpheus (a version of Rilke’s Die Sonette an Orpheus, Faber, 2006) and Rain (Faber, 2009; Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2010). He has published two books of aphorism, The Book of Shadows (Picador, 2004) and The Blind Eye (Faber, 2007), and a compendium, Best Thought, Worst Thought (Graywolf, 2008). He has also edited a number of anthologies.  His poetry has won a number of awards, including the Forward Prize for Best First Collection, the Whitbread Poetry Prize, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Award, and the T S Eliot Prize on two occasions. Most recently, Rain won the 2009 Forward prize. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and a Fellow of the English Association; he received the OBE in 2008 and the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry in 2010. He teaches poetry at the University of St Andrews, and since 1996 has been poetry editor at Picador MacMillan.

Pascale Petit’s sixth collection Fauverie is published by Seren in September 2014. Five poems from the book won the Manchester Poetry Prize. Her fifth collection What the Water Gave Me: Poems after Frida Kahlo was shortlisted for both the TS Eliot Prize and Wales Book of the Year, and was a Book of the Year in the Observer. Pascale has had three books shortlisted for the TS Eliot Prize and selected as Books of the Year in the Times Literary Supplement, Independent and Observer. She tutors courses at Tate Modern and for The Poetry School.

At the forefront of the UK poetry scene, Roehampton Poetry Centre offers research opportunities and master classes with significant figures in the poetry world, publishes the internationally renowned POEM magazine, and runs two major poetry prizes: the Roehampton Prize, for the best Poetry book of the year, and the Ruskin Prize for the best single poem.

Venue : The Senate Room (Senate House, First Floor):
10 December 2014: 7.00pm