Academic Staff

Professor Sarah Churchwell - Chair in Public Understanding of the Humanities (SAS)

Professor Simon Eliot - Professor Emeritus of the History of the Book

Dr Cynthia Johnston - Lecturer in Book History and Communications, MA/MRes Course Tutor

Dr Andrew Nash - Reader in Book History and Communications

Dr Christopher Ohge - Lecturer in Digital Approaches to Literature

Professor Rick Rylance - Institute Director

Dr Elizabeth Savage - Lecturer and British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow in Book History and Communications

Administrative Staff

The Institute of English Studies office is open 10.00 - 17.00 Monday through Friday. 

Mr Christopher Adams - Institute Administrator 

  • Research fellowships
  • Invoices/payments
  • Institutional Membership

 - Events Officer

  • Conferences
  • Lectures
  • Seminars

Dr Daniel Mullins - Postgraduate, Academic Societies and Events Administrator

  • MA/MRes in the History of the Book
  • MPhil/PhD Study
  • London Rare Books School
  • London Palaeography Summer School
  • T.S. Eliot International Summer School
  • Nineteenth Century Study Week
  • Short courses and study days
  • The Bibliographical Society
  • The Malone Society

Ms Katy Thompson - Events and Communications Intern

  • Social media
  • Room bookings
  • Event registration