​Registration is now open.

6-14 July 2019

The T.S. Eliot International Summer School welcomes to central London all with an interest in the life and work of this Bloomsbury-based poet, dramatist, and man of letters. It is hosted by the Institute of English Studies of the University of London, which facilitates study and research across the field of English Studies.

The Summer School brings together some of the most distinguished scholars of T.S. Eliot and Modern Literature. In recent years it has featured lecturers and poets such as: Simon Armitage, Jewel Spears Brooker, Robert Crawford, Denis Donoghue, Mark Ford, Lyndall Gordon, John Haffenden, Barbara Hardy, Seamus Heaney, Alan Jenkins, Hermione Lee, Gail McDonald, Paul Muldoon, Craig Raine, Robin Robertson and Sir Tom Stoppard. (View the 2018 list).

The Institute has an established interest in Modernist literature, the subject of numerous of its conferences and research seminar series, which are open to all, as are its established series of literary readings. It hosts a portfolio of research programmes and provides postgraduate teaching and training in this research environment.

Seminar leaders for the 2019 T.S. Eliot International Summer School:

Jayme Stayer, Early Poems and Criticism​

David Chinitz, Middle Poems and Criticism​

Robert Von Hallberg, Later Poems and Criticism​

Julia Daniel, Eliot's Ecologies: The Waste Land and Four Quartets​

Jean-Michel Rabaté, Eliot’s French Intertexts

Jewel Spears Brooker, Logic, Longing, and the Religious Imagination Eliot’s Poetry and Prose​